Faber-Castell 24ct Triangular Colored EcoPencils Review

#art #review #colorpencils #FaberCastell

I’ve been away for a while working on other projects, but today I wanted to write a review for the Faber-Castell 24ct Triangular Colored EcoPencils, the ones with that cute little Koala on the pack.

I’ve been meaning to write this review for quite some time now but I kept getting distracted, so let’s get to it.

You can order the Faber-Castell 24ct Triangular Colored EcoPencils from Amazon and eBay for under $10 USD, but if you are lucky you can also find them at your local art store as well for a cheaper price. I drew several pictures (a few you can see below) with the Faber-Castell color pencils over the last five months, so here are my thoughts about them.

day-4-fat-panda

The Faber-Castell color pencils blend multiple colors pretty well and you can add an amazing amount of detail if you take the time to do so. Depending on how hard you draw or how light you draw determines how vibrant the colors look. Drawing hard gives a nice smooth and rich blend of colors while drawing lightly gives a more sketchy rough look.

I’ve used Prisma colors and Crayola in the past and the darn things tend to break often at the tips and they also get soft over time which makes them fall apart or lose their vibrant colors. I didn’t have this problem so far with the Faber-Castell. However, I ditched using a standard pencil sharpener and I now use a boxcutter with replaceable breakable blades, so that may contribute to why my pencils don’t break on me since I carefully chisel away at the point to get a sharper edge.

Over the course of the five months I’ve drawn with the pencils I haven’t seen any noticeable wear to the point where I’m down to half a pencil, so I’m sure they’ll last another four to five months before I need to buy another pack and replace them, granted, I don’t draw with them every single day because I also do quite a bit of digital art.

Overall, I am very happy with the Faber-Castell color pencils and would buy them again.

Talking about how the pencils draw is one thing, but it is better to just show you the quality so that you can see for yourself. You can take a look at the pictures I drew with the  Faber-Castell 24ct color pencils down below.

Have any questions? Comment below and share your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

